top of page
Search

Mini Chocolate Skillet Cake

Happy New Year everyone! I haven't been posting frequently, but I have been baking a lot. For Christmas, me and my family put together plates with spritz cookies, gingerbread men, snowballs, chocolate crinkles, and peppermint bark to give out to our neighbors and friends. I also made chocolate-dipped shortbread cookies earlier in December. Overall, it was a great cookie season!



On to today's recipe. I created this little cake as a birthday gift for my friend. I've posted the cake recipe before (Mini Chocolate Bundt Cakes), so scroll through my blog page to find it!



I made the recipe like normal (except that I forgot to add the milk until the end, so don't do that), but instead of pouring the cake out into little molds, I poured it into my mini skillet. Then, I had the perfect little cake!


I started with a crumb layer, and my frosting was a little thick, so it was challenging. Once it was fully covered, I popped it into the fridge to chill for ten minutes.



When it came time to frost the cake with its final layer, I ended up making more frosting. I dyed it a light pink color and spooned it out into a piping bag. Then, I piped little swirls all over the cake's surface.


As a finishing touch, I placed little pearl candies along the bottom of the cake, and stuck a white candle on top.


Of course, you can decorate this however you like. Have fun with it, because the cake is tiny and doesn't require a lot of ingredients. The main reason I'm posting this recipe is so that you will get inspired to make skillet cakes, but be creative!


Ingredients:


For the Cake:


1 batch of Mini Chocolate Bundt Cake batter


For the Frosting:


1 cup butter, softened

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

2 tablespoons milk (+ extra)

6 cups confectioner's sugar

Food coloring of choice

Candies (optional)


*I usually eyeball my frosting, so this recipe isn't exact. I will try and get the exact measurements next time, but it really depends on your personal preference of sweetness and texture.


Directions:


1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a mini skillet (mine was about 6 inches in diameter) and fill almost to the top with batter. Bake for 20 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. (The recipe will be enough to fill the skillet twice, so after letting the first cake cool and removing it, fill it again and bake).


2) While the cakes cool, prepare the frosting. Cream together the butter and sugar until smooth. Add in the vanilla and milk. Taste the frosting, and add more milk (1 tablespoon at a time) or sugar depending on the consistency and flavor. Set aside some frosting and dye it.


3) Place the first cake onto a cake board (I had to create my own out of a piece of cardboard), using a little bit of frosting to stick it on. Frost the top and place the other cake on top.


4) Crumb coat the entire cake, then cover with plastic wrap and chill in the fridge for 10 minutes.


5) Using the colored frosting, pipe swirls all along the cake. Line the edge with candies of your choice. Enjoy!

36 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page