top of page
Search

Copycat Levain Bakery Cookies


First of all, hello internet. I've been gone for awhile because of school and sports and all, but I'm back and will be posting more frequently. I promise, I've still been baking. I just haven't been taking photos or documenting anything.


Anyway. On to today's post.


Have I ever tried a cookie from Levain Bakery? Sadly, no. Have I ever even gone to New York? One can only dream.


Still, I see these cookies all over the internet. People are constantly raving about the huge, 6 ounce cookies that can only be found at that particular bakery. The ones that have a gooey center, but are still somehow both chewy and crispy.

Because of my inability to travel to New York, I decided to bring some of New York to me by baking these copycat versions of the oh-so-famous cookies.

The recipe, created by Modern Honey (https://www.modernhoney.com/levain-bakery-chocolate-chip-crush-cookies/), is actually amazing. I highly recommend it.


Below, I've written her work in other words, but it is the same exact recipe. I simply wanted to re-share it because I love it so much. Definitely try out the recipe, and let me know if you do!


INGREDIENTS: - 1 cup cold butter, cubed

- 1 cup packed brown sugar

- 1/2 cup granulated sugar

- 2 eggs at room temperature

- 1 1/2 cups cake flour

- 1 1/2 cups flour

- 1 teaspoon cornstarch

- 3/4 teaspoon baking soda

- 3/4 teaspoon salt

- 2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

- 2 cups walnuts, roughly chopped


DIRECTIONS:

1) Preheat oven to 410 degrees.

2) In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugars until creamy.

3) Add the eggs one at a time, mixing after each addition.

4) Stir in flours, cornstarch, baking soda, and salt until just combined.

5) Mix in chocolate chips and walnuts.

6) Separate dough into large balls (I recommend weighing them, I was able to make eight six-ounce cookies and one 3-ish-ounce one) and place on a baking sheet lined with a silicone mat. Don't try to cram too many on, only bake four at a time!

7) Bake for 9-12 minutes or until golden brown on the top*. The cookies will quickly brown on the top, but the center will still seem VERY soft and undercooked. Let cool for ten minutes, and then dig in!


* I ended up placing two pans on the rack below my cookies at the nine minute mark, so that they wouldn't brown too much on the bottom. I then took these pans out and repeated this step for the second pan.

54 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page