top of page
Search

Famous Lemon Bars

Lemon bars are among my favorite desserts in the world, along with pineapple tarts and cheesecake, of course. I've tried several recipes throughout the years, but I always find myself coming back to this one.

Something about the golden, buttery crust paired with the sharp tang of lemon and sweet sugar coating pulls me back and convinces me to eat another. Based on the near-empty pan that's left behind after only a few days, others feel the same way. These lemon bars are the perfect thing to snack on, and they make an especially cute spring treat. I hope you'll enjoy them!


Ingredients:


Base:

2 cups flour

1 cup (2 sticks) butter, slightly chilled

1/2 cup confectioner's sugar


Topping:

4 eggs

2 cups granulated sugar

1/2 cup lemon juice

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking powder

4 tablespoons flour


Directions:


1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a 9" x 12" glass baking dish, measure out the and confectioner's sugar. Using two knives, cut the butter into the mixture. When the butter is divided into smaller chunks, use a fork to cut it further. Press mixture into the pan evenly. Bake for 20 minutes, until golden brown.


2) In a medium bowl, whisk together the eggs, sugar, lemon juice, and salt. Stir in the baking powder and flour, and pour the mixture over the baked crust.


3) Bake for 25 minutes more. Let cool completely before cutting into bars and sprinkling with sifted powdered sugar.



*NOTE: I always prefer my lemon bars chilled, and usually do so after step two. They also last longer in the fridge, so I highly recommend storing them there.



25 views2 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page